Monday, 26 November 2018

The Keeper of the Book by Lana Melyan (Eternity Road #3)


The moment Samson and Craig are back, Eleanor finds out she has another task. The outcome of the Hunters last battle against Fray and his army depends on her. Would she be able to fulfil her new mission? Would the Hunters make it through the fight? Right now the odds are not in their favour and their lives are at stake. But each and every one of them is ready to do their duty, to make sure that no evil walks down the Eternity Road.

My review:

A perfect ending to this fabulous trilogy. I am kind of sad it's over and somewhat hoping there will be a little more to this story.

Samson, Craig and the gang of hunters are facing their biggest battle yet against one they counted as their own. They face exposure, death and decisions harder than they ever imagined having to take.

This trilogy is a brilliant mixture of humans, vampires, love, adventure and mystery. I love the relationship between all the hunters, the closeness of their 'family' and the blossoming love between the unreachable Ruben and Kimberley.

I really enjoyed the twist in the last part, where not everyone can expect a happy ending, it lent the story the human touch that so many supernatural stories lack.

Well done Lana and thank you to TBConFB for access to this book.

My rating: 5/5

Available to purchase from:

Friday, 9 March 2018

The Haunting of Hattie Hastings Part One and Two by Audrey Davis

Synopsis for part one:

Hattie Hastings is happily married, even if husband Gary drives her up the wall at times. When tragedy strikes, she is left alone and heartbroken, with only an assortment of family and friends to prop her up.

Struggling to cope, she is left reeling when her deceased other half returns, popping up at the most inappropriate times. Hattie can't convince anyone that Gary is back. Not even best friend Cat – now free from the cruel and controlling Stewart – will believe her.

Why has Gary returned? And what will Cat do when her slimy ex-husband tries to worm his way back into her affections?

The Haunting of Hattie Hastings will make you laugh, cry and count down until Part Two …
Synopsis for part two:

The story continues … Hattie is used to her deceased husband Gary dropping in and out of her life. His timing might not always be great, but at least he's still around. Although – when Hattie tentatively tries a spot of dating – his interference isn't entirely welcome.

Best friend Cat is lapping up her new relationship with teacher Jamie, but ex-husband Stewart isn't prepared to fade into the background. Hattie's mother Rachel faces a daunting battle, one she doesn't want to burden family and friends with. But there's someone waiting in the wings who might be more than a shoulder to cry on.

Gary still doesn't know what his mission on earth is, and spirit guide Clarence isn't offering any clues? Will an encounter with another provide him with answers, or put Hattie in an impossible situation?

Prepare for more laughs and tears in the second instalment of a trilogy which takes a darkly comic look at life … and the afterlife.

Warning: Cliffhanger ending

My review:

My review will cover both books one and two as I have read them together. Both books are quite short, quick and easy reads and storyline well thought out. The author has good sense of humour, which shows throughout both books and makes the story current and relatable.

In part one, we are introduced to Hattie and Gary, a married couple trotting along quite nicely in life. Until an awful accident in which Gary dies. However, it turns out that for Gary, death is not the end and much to Hattie’s shock, he comes back, sometimes in the most inappropriate of times. Hattie does not really struggle believing her own eyes, what proves more difficult is to make other people believe that her husband’s ghost is basically haunting her.

Book two delves deeper into the main character’s lives. We get to know Hattie’s best friend Cat a little bit more, especially since Garry makes an appearance to her. We also meet Hattie’s brother Jack and find out more about her mother Rachel and son Johnny. And just as Hattie thinks she could not get more surprises in her life, Garry asks her to do something for another person who recently passed away.

These are laid back, funny books that will put a smile on your face after a long day at work.  

Thank you very much to the author and TBConFB for access to this book in return for this honest review.

My rating for both parts: 3/5

Available to purchase from:
Amazon UK – part two – available for pre-order
Amazon US – part two – available for pre-order

Monday, 5 March 2018

Scavenger Girl: Season of Talium by Jennifer Arntson (Scavenger Girl #2)


When the gods leave and evil freely rules Ashlund, Una and her family bear down for the season of darkness. Seemingly safe in the comfort of her own home, she explores her newly acquired gift with the help of her loved ones. Within days, her plans are interrupted and instead of fighting boredom, she finds herself fighting to survive. Trapped in a situation where there is no escape, Una endures the worst the Authority has to offer. Who knew family could be so kind...or so ruthlessly cruel? For all the things her parents taught her about surviving in a world set against them, they never prepared her for this. Una is about to discover the true demons of the dark were here all along.

My review:

I have been waiting for this book and wow, it did not disappoint. I absolutely loved the first book and thought that this could not get any better, but hey, I was wrong. It does get better. Much better.

The first book left off with Una returning home after the festival at the end of the season of Atchem, torn between saving her family by marrying Blue (a man she got to fear and hate) and her true love for Calish, her once so-called brother. Una learned a lot about herself, including her biggest secret she must guard with her life – that she is a Seer.

As the family enter the season of Talium and with it its darkness, monsters hiding in the shadows and danger everywhere (from wolves and citizens alike), Una hopes for a rest and time to get to understand her new relationship with Calish and to understand more about herself, what she has gone through and what is expected of her.

However, time is not on her side though and soon after her return Una has a vision that will change the course of her life once more. She understand clearly, what she has to do and sacrifice in order for her family to stay safe.

This second instalment is much darker in its context then the first, given us a real insight into the twisted minds of the Authority and what goes on behind the closed doors. We also learn more about Una’s family, the political plotting and the power that comes with being the Lord of Authority and ultimately the puppet master in all things political and religious. Una has to grow up and fast, making friendships where she would never expect and finding herself to be a much stronger person she would ever think herself to be.

As you can tell, I love the books and I cannot wait to read the next one. I just hope it will not be too long before I can get my hands on it!

Massive thanks go to Jennifer for once again allowing me to read her fabulous book.

My rating: 5/5

Author's website:

Available to purchase from: